The 9th Man by Steve Berry / Grant Blackwood

This is a tiny bit of a spoiler, but it was the plot line that pulled me in to The 9th Man so I am going to mention that the story involves the JFK assassination. I clearly remember the day after school in 1963 when my mother told me the President was shot, and I have been fascinated with the theories about the assassination ever since. Berry, who outlined the plot and then wrote the book along with Blackwood, has written many novels in the political thriller genre, but I have never picked up one of his books. I am happy to have done so now.

The 9th Man is the first lead outing for the character Luke Daniels. An agent in a clandestine organization within the government, Luke is called on by a friend who needs his help when her grandfather is killed in a home invasion. Secret papers are found which lead our duo across Europe, Louisiana, the Caribbean and Montana where there is a good amount of battling action everywhere they go.

Yes, it is an action thriller, but it is also a very thoughtful story about an historical moment and its impact on the present. The ending is not expected. The authors were able to turn what could have been a plain action thriller with bad guys chasing good guys for some abstract reason into a thriller that has a purpose. I will be reading more of Steve Berry.

My score 4 of 5.

This ARC title was provided by Netgalley.com at no cost, and I am providing an unbiased review. The 9th Man was published on June 27, 2023.

Leave a comment